Hair Growing

Roll out Silk press: Fail

Hey Curlies,

That’s right I tried something different with my hair and it was a fail.

I tried doing a roll out 2 years into my journey and it was a flop. I used too much styling product that looked and felt like the equivalent of product build up and that is not good for my low porosity hair.

My first attempt 2 years ago

 

Many of you might refer to this as a roller set/ roll out or straightening your hair. In the natural community when using rollers to get a more smoother curl its called a Roller set and using a flat iron to get a little flatter it is called a Silk press. Just in case I confused you in the title.

 

This time…. Well it seems I did not learn my lesson after my first attempt (although the picture 2 years ago looks better than my second attempt)

I used 2 styling products Aunt Jackie’s curl la la and Aunt Jackies Baby girls curls. However… This was not my only mistake:

  • I done my hair too late and had to dry it on a low heat with a hair dryer.
  • I was in a rush when I flat ironed my hair and did not go through it properly and the sections I took were too thick.
  • I used rollers that weren’t the right size for my hair.

 

beginning to the roll out sorry for BRF it was so hot
letting the sun’s rays dry my hair… it failed…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The fact that I used too much product also made it difficult for the heat to penetrate my hair and sleek it/press it out.

Heat Protector: Elnette Satin
The heat protector I used is one that is fairly new it retailed at R39.99 which I thought was not too bad. There was I was standing wondering which one to choose.
I had a choice between straight, wavy or volume.

Elnett Heat protectant Straight,volume and wavy
Elnette Heat Protectant Volume and Straight

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the end I chose the wavy one because I felt it would protect my hair the most and because well it said wavy and specifically highlighted the fact that it is a heat protector.
The heat protector offers protection up to 230 degrees celcius.

To be honest the experience was not as pleasant as I thought it would be. I’ve had my hair in its natural state for so long that I do not know how to deal with my hair heat styled. What really annoyed me was the fact that I had to swirl my hair and style it according to the weather and everything else that came with heat styling my hair almost 4 years ago. The other thing that annoyed me was that people were over the moon someone even said I have a straight curl (?????) I guess they meant that my hair is not as kinky as they thought it was that really annoyed me.

I kept it in 2 plaits the rest of the time which also doubled as protective styling for me. Which I guess is the blessing in disguise.

This is me trying to look cute with this roller set fail.
The prepping to swirl/doobie wrap my hair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Although I have failed the second time around I will prevail and perfect the roll out silk press.

Next time I will:

  • Use Flax seed gel as its mainly water there is less chance that there will be product build up.
  • I will do my hair earlier as in wash my hair the night before and then do my hair the following day
  • Take smaller sections when doing my hair
  • Prepare properly and not rush it.
  • Buy bigger rollers  (the good old fashioned purple and orange ones)

Here’s to learning all over again.

 

(p.s in the USA doobie wrap is the equivalent of the swirl kous I just added in case a Curly from the USA reading this post.)

(p.s again

Many of you might refer to this as a roller set/ roll out or straightening your hair. In the natural community when using rollers to get a more smoother curl its called a Roller set and using a flat iron to get a little flatter it is called a Silk press. Just in case I confused you in the title.)

ND 😉

 

Leave a Reply

