Hair Growing

Braid It!

Hey Curly Naturals,

After almost 3 years since I last braided my hair I decided to take the leap again.

Why did it take so long? Well because I needed to find someone that I could trust with my hairline and that wouldn’t pull my hair when I ask if they are able to do my hair.
Can we talk?
Some salons that do braiding that are run by South Africans have told me that “your hair is too soft sisi”… When I would go to other salons run by African nationals they would first touch my hair (that’s putting it lightly) by pulling and tugging it out of definition. If my first contact with someone is not respecting my hair then how can I trust you with actually doing my hair.

I also constantly get asked “can your hair be braided/plaited because its so soft” its extremely frustrating when people judge my hair texture and think that certain styles can or cannot be achieved because of my curl type, my own mother plaited my hair in cornrows too many times for me to count so of course  my hair can be plaited (duh). Its for that reason that I agree with so many naturals that curl typing is not the be all and end all of your hair there are many factors that contribute to your curl type, anywho I digress and that’s a topic for another day.

I finally found a salon owner that lives in the same area I do. By chance I overheard her talking about Olive oil , a brand of relaxer, I asked her if she does hair she said yes. After a bit of discussion and the professional way I was treated I budgeted for my hair to be done at the end of October. (Braids are suprisingly expensive to have done)

Prepping:
I bought:

  • 3 packs of Xpression ultra braid (I only ended up needing 2 and a bit but better safe than sorry)
  • Smooth and shine hair and scalp cleanser (review coming soon on this bomb ass product)
  • Smooth n shine fresh revival spray.X-pressions Fibre, Smooth n' Shine hair and scalp cleanser andSmooth n shine fresh revival spray.

I deep conditioned my hair the night before and applied Tresemme Naturals conditioner then plaited my hair.

The style I decided on was half corn rows and half braids with the intention of removing the corn rows and installing single braids once the style is not that on fleek anymore.
Hair day:

Maureen stretched my hair by (lightly) blowing it out, the heat wasn’t that intense but a bit too much for my liking. I didn’t mind though because she did warn me, it made my hair easier to braid and my hair being braided means its being protected so it was sort of a necessary evil.

Blowing out/stretching my hair.
Blowing out/stretching my hair.

She then started at the back and then cornrowed the front part.

Maureen first dipped the ends of my braids in hot water and then tooktowels

Setting the style with hot towels.
Setting the style with hot towels.

dipped in hot water and wrapped it around my corn rows.
This really helped ease the tightness and set my style.

I will have a follow up post on my hair after removing the braids and my general thoughts.

ND 😉

 

 

 

 

 

End result
End result
End result half corn rows half braids from the right
End result half corn rows half braids from the right
Leave a Reply

