Uncategorized

AWOL Update

Hey Guys,

i have been away for a while and just needed to give you a heads up on my absence.

The start of the working year ( me returning to my job) kicked off with a bang and it has left me with very little time to get blogging on the regular, I actually do have some blog posts lined but not ones that are ready to post.

Please bear with me guys, I just need to get my bearings (excuse the pun) and get into a proper routine/schedule and the SA Curly girl posts will be a bit more regular.

Thanks in advance.
ND šŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “AWOL Update

  1. Hi There, I am a happy new mom to a beautiful chocolate baby through adoption, however I am a vanilla mommy and don’t know how to keep her hair looking lovely. She has tight tiny spiral curls that are very soft to the touch. In the 4 range I think but I don’t know if it’s 4a, 4b, 4c etc but she has a tight spiral soft curl that tends towards fuzziness. My daughter is 5months old so I want to keep things natural. What shampoo and conditioner would be suitable? How can I keep her curl definition? How do I detangle? Please help me do a good job of making my baby proud of her natural hair!!! Thanks so much!

    1. Hi River,

      Reading your comment brought such a big smile on my face.
      I would suggest keeping it simple. Washing her hair with a sulphate free shampoo and moisturizing her some coconut oil should do the trick, although type 4b hair tends to get hard with coconut oil so I would suggest maybe a drop or 2 of olive oil.
      From your comment I could not figure out whether you are a South African mom or not so I am not quiet sure which products to refer you to.
      I usually do not suggest using baby hair products as they typically contain sulphates that dry out natural hair (even the “curly hair” baby range)
      Because baby’s hair is type 4 it does tend to be more fuzzy or less defined if you do want a bit of definition I would suggest a curl defining product.
      You can detangle her hair by washing it with coconut/olive oil and finger detangling or leaving the oil in for a while and then finger detangling.
      Just remember that you are on a journey with your baby’s hair there will be times when it is tough but soon you will figure out which products work and which don’t, have patience even we naturals have our own struggles.

      1. Thank you so much for your reply. I am in South Africa and would really appreciate if you could recommend the following for my little girl. Shampoo, conditioner /moisturiser, clarifying shampoo, detangler and curl defining product. I’m desperate to do a great job of caring for her beautiful natural hair. Really appreciate the help and encouraging words. šŸ™‚

      2. Hi River,

        I would suggest the Johnson and Johnson Baby range. There is a detangling spray, I used this spray before the range relaunched and it was really helped to detangle my hair. I would not recommend the Shampoo in the range as it does contain Sodium Laurel Sulphate that may dry your baby’s hair out and make it difficult to handle. For curl defining product I would recommend Aunt Jackie’s Curl la la curl defining cream, it really makes great ringlets and is a favourite product of mine.
        Also instead of washing your baby’s hair with shampoo try the No poo/Curly girl method by washing it with conditioner, it will clean your baby’s hair without drying it out, you save by only by one product with 2 uses and it is a favourite method used by most naturals who do not find a good alternative sulfate free shampoos.
        The Johnson’s baby range is available in most stores and the Aunt Jackie’s range is available at Clicks.

        ND šŸ˜‰

    2. Johnson and Johnson has a great range for kids šŸ™‚ I absolutely love how you’re taking the initiative and learning about curly hair, just for your daughter šŸ™‚ Let me know if you need any advice šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

