Uncategorized

My most expensive gift….

My mother and I, the night of my graduation. Yes we are both shorties.
My mother and I, the night of my graduation. Yes we are both shorties.
My Matric Farewell aka Prom
My Matric Farewell aka Prom

 

The other night, I was busy surfing the internet doing some work and just getting some things done.

My mom bought me a dongle/modem for Christmas that would make it able for me to surf the internet. I was just so happy to get some work done and thanked my mother while she was standing in front of me braiding her hair (she’s also going through her natural hair journey).

I then told her that this is probably the most expensive gift that she has bought me, not that I was being shallow or materialistic. I would not be able to afford the dongle/modem without saving. So my mother then asked me if that’s what it’s about, how expensive gifts are. She then told me that the most expensive gift that she has given me is: education. I looked at her wide eyed and could not have agreed more.

She herself has been an example of how important education is by studying further when I was 12 years old, any woman would know having 2 kids, a full time job and then still being a single mother is no easy feat but she finished her coursed and then stopped because I had to go and study. When I had doubts about going to study performing arts she was adamant that I study the one thing that I have been speaking about since I made my mind up when I was 10.

I am very fortunate to be able to have the chance to get a tertiary education, this is a luxury that not many South Africans have and something that I am grateful for.

Since my mother will be reading this post: Hi Mummy….

ND 😉

Leave a Reply

