South African Curlies

Denman (& other) Brushes available in South Africa!!

It seems like I just suck at this Hiatus thing. (This is the second time that I have broken the: only blogging once a month rule)There is however a good reason that I am breaking this rule. I accidently discovered that we South African Curly Girls are able to detangle our hair just as easily as American Girls. I was not planning to buy anything when I walked into Dischem and then the corner of my eye caught word Denman. I immediately started taking photos to share with you.

The Brushes costs anything from R79.99-R125 *

I however do not know the prices of the combs and accessories but I will be sure to update this post.

So get to your nearest Dischem and check out this range.

ND 😉 Check out my Next post on Denman Brushes the alternative that I found before the Denman range

A variety of Denman combs (The Afro pick is my Favourite)
A variety of combs (The Afro pick is my Favourite)

Denman Ceramic Barrel brush

On the left is a Denman ceramic straightener/flat iron and the far right is a paddle brush with boar bristles
On the left is a ceramic straightener/flat iron and the far right is a paddle brush with boar bristles
A variety of Denman paddle brushes and a blow out brush(on the left).
A variety of paddle brushes and a blow out brush(on the left).
Left to right: Hair Accesories; Pom-pom, Hair Pins and slide grips
Left to right: Pom-pom, Hair Pins and slide grips

Here are other alternative brushes that I discovered besides the Denman: Freestyle and Michel Mercier

  • it detangles hair very well (I was brushing my mother’s 4 something hair without much effort)
  • The Brush is not bulky and difficult to hold or handle
  • It has a smooth surface (This makes it difficult when  you applied product to your hair and handle the brush with your slippery hands the brush tends to fall out)\
  • The brush costs  R89.99 and in my opinion and investment item.
  • There are other brushes in this range as shown in the picture on the left

The Michel Mercier

  • This brush is really big and I think that it will work great for really long hair.
  • The Brushes are colour coded according to hair type/thickness so you can choose one that suits you best.
  • I also consider this an investment item.

*Prices are correct at the time this post was published

A variety of Freestyle Paddle brushes. The one on the left is for curling & straightening. The 2 in the middle is for brushing dry hair. The one on the right I assume is for wet styling
A variety of Freestyle Paddle brushes. The one on the left is for curling & straightening. The 2 in the middle is for brushing dry hair. The one on the right I assume is for wet styling
Michel Mercier detangling brush
Michel Mercier detangling brushes
Freestyle wet/dry detangler
Freestyle wet/dry detangler
4 thoughts on “Denman (& other) Brushes available in South Africa!!

    1. This post is mean to inform South African girls that Denman brushes are available in South Africa. We have very limited ranges available to us, so any products or tools that are available in South Africa that will help South African girls with their hair journey, I post them. Maybe you should read my About page to know exactly why I blog.

      1. Hi, I am looking for three of your old “paddle” brushes.It used to have a maroon color handle with plastic bristles encased in a rubber. I used to buy it about 25 – 30 years ago
        Regards Ismail

Leave a Reply

