Uncategorized

Paarl

My family had moved to Paarl while I was staying at the hostel while at college. I didn’t know a thing about the place and the afternoon that I got home for the holidays the first thing that I wanted to do was get to a bank to withdraw some money.

I walked to the shop thinking that soon I would find the bank where I am banking at and get the money, however I did not find any bank or even a shop where I could withdraw money from, so I kept on walking…. After a while I was wondering if the path that I am walking in will lead somewhere, I asked a woman passing by and she said its down a little further, so I walked down a little further b

ut still no Capitec Bank. I passed a car dealership and asked another woman she said: My dear Capitec is waaay down in Lady Gray street. I kept on walking until eventually I got to the end of the main road and at the corner of Lady Grey was a Capitec Bank.

I had just walked about 12 km in Paarl’s heat (Paarl is a very hot place in summer) wearing black !!! I’m sure I got sun burnt (however I cannot remember how bad). This 12km walk wasn’t that bad though because I got to see how beautiful Paarl is. This walk made me fall in love with this town that has the wine lands as its backdrop.  Walking in the main road alone features 3 vineyards, where else do you find this?

I have added some photos of Paarl they are not the best quality(I took them on my Blackberry)  but they definitely capture the beauty of the Paarl. ENJOY!

The entrance of De Hoop,one of the Vineyards/Farms facing the main road

De Hoop
De Hoop
De Hoop
De Hoop
Its exactly what the caption says; this is a little vineyard that's in someone's backyard. Facing the main road!
Its exactly what the caption says; this is a little vineyard that’s in someone’s backyard. Facing the main road!
The fact that Paarl Tourism Information office is not placed in some boring building but one with personality and local flavor makes it cool
The fact that Paarl Tourism Information office is not placed in some boring building but one with personality and local flavor makes it cool
I just had to take a photo of the different sized wine bottles.
I just had to take a photo of the different sized wine bottles.
One thought on “Paarl

Leave a Reply

